THE SCHOOL BOARD OF BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA DIVERSITY COMMITTEE MEETING October 4, 2018 Minutes

Members Present Members Absent

Natalie Beasley Naima Khan-Ghany Lillie Harris

Harve Brosten Charles King Rev. Luke Harrigan Rebecca Dahl Nigel Lovell-Martin Doug Harrison Henry Graham Esther Mizell Bryan Wilson

Carolyn Hardy
Easton Harrison
Norman Hemming III
Mei-Ling Hoshing
Diljit Pannu
Ernestine Price
Omar Rodriguez
Beau Simon

Student Support Initiatives Staff: Michaelle Valbrun-Pope; Terri Jones; Latricia Lauture

Diversity, Prevention & Intervention Staff: Marion Williams

Parliamentarian: Patricia McDougle

District Staff: Leslie Brown, Chief Portfolio Services Officer; Patrick Sipple, Director, Demographics &

Student Assignments

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting began at 6:41 p.m. A quorum was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

The agenda was adopted as presented.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Minutes of August 2, 2018 and September 6, 2018 were approved as presented.

BOUNDARY PROCESS PRESENTATION

Leslie Brown and **Patrick Sipple** gave a presentation on the Boundary Process and School Choice which included, but not limited to: boundary process and timeline; marketing; benchmark data enrollment; 5-year enrollment projections; website enhancement; community and staff proposals; special programs at schools; and school choice.

Mr. Sipple mentioned the Portfolio Services Division has a new director of Innovative Programs/Design Support, Shernette Grant.

Discussion followed about: diversity; neighborhood integrity; innovative programs; tailored marketing to under-represented applicants; full-school magnet schools; students choosing charter schools over boundary schools; reassignments; students relocated back to home school; and students exiting schools.

More information can be found at: https://www.browardschools.com/Page/33996

PARLIAMENTARIAN REVIEW: ELECTION PROCESS

Ms. McDougle reviewed the process for the election of chair and vice chair.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Ms. Khan-Ghany shared the following expectations for the person who serves in the role of chair: make regular reports at the School Board meeting; meet with the School Board members; play an active role in site visits; engage other committees and community events; hold to the agenda and stay on task; allow input on the agenda items and include presentations from District departments on the progress of the nine conditions.

Ms. Khan-Ghany announced that the Nominating Committee had three recommendations for chair:

Rebecca Dahl, Easton Harrison and Major Pannu.

Nominations from the floor were as follows: **Dr. Hemming** and **Mr. Simon**.

ELECTION FOR CHAIR

Ms. Pope presided over the election of chair of the Committee. Each nominee was given three minutes to speak on their behalf. **Ms. Khan-Ghany** noted that **Major Pannu** removed his name as a nominee. Members voted among the following for chair of the Diversity Committee: **Ms. Dahl; Mr. E. Harrison; Dr. Hemming** and **Mr. Simon**.

Following the vote **Ms. Pope** announced that **Mr. Easton Harrison** is the newly elected chair of the Diversity Committee.

Ms. Dahl: 4 votes

Mr. Easton Harrison: 6 votes

Mr. Hemming: 4 votes Mr. Simon: 2 votes

By consent, the meeting was extended for 10 minutes.

New member, Natalie Beasley, appointed by Laurie Rich Levinson, introduced herself.

ELECTION FOR VICE CHAIR

Newly elected chair Mr. E. Harrison presided over the election of vice chair.

Nominations from the floor were: **Dr. Hemming** and **Ms. Dahl**.

At the conclusion of the vote **Mr. E. Harrison** announced that **Ms. Dahl** is the newly elected vice chair of the Diversity Committee.

Ms. Dahl: 10 votes Mr. Hemming: 6 votes

Meeting adjourned at 8:37 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, November 1, 2018, at 6:30 p.m., in the Board Room, Kathleen C. Wright Administration Building.